England batsman Jason Roy, missed his century after a phenomenal performance yesterday in the World Cup semi-final match against Australia. In the 20th over bowled by Pat Cummins, Jason missed the ball, falling straight into the hands of the wicket-keeper Alex Carrey. Umpire Kumar Dharmasena showed the out signal while Roy protested.
England had no review left to go to the third umpire, so Roy got out at 85. Later on, it was confirmed in the ultra-edge, that he didn’t hit the ball which the umpire judged as out. This was a case of judgment error.
On the official Instagram page of ICC, they posted, ‘85 runs, 65 balls, 9 fours, 5 sixes. How good was England’s Jason Roy with the bat in the #CWC19 semi-final against Australia? @oppo | #BeAShotMaker’
Also, Jason Roy was fined 30 percent of his match fee for breaching the code of conduct which fell under Article 2.8 ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel. In addition, two demerit points have been added to his disciplinary record.
In another post shared by ICC, it says, ‘England opener Jason Roy accepts a fine for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct but avoids ban for the #CWC19 final.’
On-field umpires, Marais Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena, third umpire Chris Gaffaney and fourth official Aleem Dar, levelled the charges against Roy. Jason Roy has admitted to the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee Ranjan Madugalle.
England thrashed Australia in the semi-final by eight wickets to storm into their first final since 1992. Now they will take on New Zealand at Lord’s on Sunday, 14 July.